Intergovernmental Relations

Intergovernmental Relations

Intergovernmental Relations
Intergovernmental Relations

Intergovernmental Relations is a unit within the Government Services Department.

The Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government is recognized through the Délı̨nę Self Government agreement, as a section 35 constitutionally protected treaty negotiated subsequent to the Sahtú Land Claim. The Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government is a self governing Indigenous government, and the representative organization of the Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę in all fora and in all matters impacting DGG authorities and Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę rights.

The mandate of Intergovernmental Relations is to inform, educate, and work with other governments and entities to ensure the representation and implementation of Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government jurisdictions and authorities, and the rights of Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę.

Intergovernmental Relations includes activities that:

  • require collaboration between the DGG and other governments to implement the self government agreement;
  • involve consultation with DGG by other governments on issues that may affect modern treaty or self government rights;
  • involve issues or disagreements over rights or authorities that require discussion and collaboration between the DGG and other governments;
  • require collaboration between the DGG and other governments or organizations.

The purpose of Intergovernmental Relations is to organize and project manage DGG engagement with other governments through bilateral and multi-lateral processes; support leadership decision making and participation in intergovernmental activities; seek funding and resources to support activities; work with officials of other governments to implement DGG participation in intergovernmental processes; and, to work with other organizations and governments on shared initiatives and activities.

Intergovernmental relations provides research, analysis, and advice to DGG Departments and leadership, and represents the DGG at the officials level in all intergovernmental initiatives.


Paulina RocheChief Executive Officer
Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox, PhDDirector of Intergovernmental Relations
Alex Ker, MPhilFiscal Technical Advisor
Stephen Mills, MEPFiscal Negotiator
Shelagh Montgomery, PhDLead, Canada-Deline Uranium Table (CDUT)
Doug DillonClimate Change Strategy Advisor
Cynthia ModesteGovernment Relations Officer
Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government