

The Dél_lne Self-Government Agreement (FSGA) has been finalized and will soon be put to a vote. It is very important that everyone who is eligible to vote understands the importance of voting and has the information that they need to decide how they want to vote.

Who can vote

To vote on the FSGA you must be a member of the Dél_lnę First Nation or be a land claim beneficiary registered with the Dél_lnę Land Corporation. You must also be at least 18 years old on March 11, 2014.

The Preliminary Voters List and other important voting information is now available on the internet at www.delinefirstnation.com in the Self-Governments section.

How to vote

There are three ways you can vote:

- In person in Déline and Yellowknife from March 10-12, 2014
- By mail-in ballot (voting packages will be mailed to all eligible voters on January 23, 2014)
 - At advance polls that will be set up in Déline and Yellowknife February 25 and 26*, 2014

Why vote

It is important that all eligible voters participate in this important decision. For the agreement to be accepted, 50% plus one of all eligible voters must vote "yes". That means if voters do not vote, it will be counted as if they are saying "no". Even if you do not support the agreement, it is important to take the time to vote so the decision is clear.

Ratification Committee

The Ratification Committee has been set up to manage the vote. It is made up of two representatives of the Dél_lnę First Nation, two representatives of the Dél_lnę Land Corporation, two representatives of Canada and two representatives of the GNWT.

The Ratification Committee is responsible for:

- making sure there is a list of voters that is complete and correct and that all voters are aware they are on the list
- making sure all voters receive copies of the self-government agreement and other important documents and have information they need to make a decision about how to vote
- planning and overseeing the ratification vote in a way that ensures everyone on the Final Voters List has the opportunity to vote

Making an informed decision

All eligible voters will receive information about the agreement in the mail, or it will be delivered in person to homes in Déline beginning in December.

There are a number of people in Dél_lne and Yellowknife who are working to make sure that all residents and eligible voters receive information and have their questions answered.

There will be workshops on the Community Constitution, the Beneficiaries Board, and general information sessions held in Dél_lnę, Yellowknife and other communities where there are eligible voters.

If at any time you have questions about the self-government agreement, or wish to have any information, you can contact the following people. They will make sure your questions are answered.

For information on the Preliminary Voters List or the voting process

Contact Gina Bayha, Ratification Manager (867) 589-8120 gbayha@hotmail.com

For information on the agreement

In Dél_ine:

The Self-Government Transition Team (Pauline Roche, Phebie Kenny and Diane Andre) and staff at the new Self-Government Office at the Cultural Centre are ready to provide information and answer questions.

Stop by the Self-Government Office at the Cultural Centre or call (867) 589-4013.

In Yellowknife:

Ron Cleary and Ron Mackeinzo are responsible for making sure that First Nation members and Land Corporation beneficiaries living outside of Dél_lne are well informed about the agreement and have their questions answered. They will be contacting individuals and providing information through general information sessions and through workshops on the Community Constitution and the Beneficiaries Board.

Stop by the Yellowknife Self-Government Office upstairs from North Wright Airways at the airport or call 1-885-428-5522 (toll-free).

From anywhere in Canada:

Call 1-855-428-5522 (toll-free)

You can also visit www.ourdeline.ca and send an email using our "contact us" form. We will make sure someone answers your question.